Eating Paleo: My Beginning

Before I made the switch over to Paleo, this is what a typical day of eating looked like for me.

Breakfast: cereal/toast/pancakes

Lunch: pasta/sandwich/leftovers

Snack: cookies/brownies/cake/granola bar/fruit

Dinner: meat with a “vegetable” and a starch. My “vegetables” were not always truly vegetables but I was not yet aware that everything that grows in the ground is not a vegetable.

Do you see the problem with that? It’s almost all grains! Where are my 5-6 servings each of fruits and veggies? Where are my 3 servings of meat? And this is how I was eating every single day. To see it written out like that, I am so, so thankful for having what must be the highest metabolism ever because without that, I would have been obese from eating that way.

I remember the first time I ever heard about the Paleo diet. I read about it on this blog and it really, really made a lot of sense to me. I mean, if you think about it, can you really picture a cavewoman baking bread? Where would she get her yeast? And did she have a pestle for grinding wheat into flour? No, probably not, and yet here we are. Civilization survived for all of that time without sandwiches and spaghetti, surely I can too. But later. Not now. I’m breastfeeding now, and it won’t be healthy for Everett or all of my milk might dry up.

Wait. What? Was I even hearing myself? Cave mamas didn’t worry about things like that. They ate what was available to them and their bodies made milk and their babies thrived. So there went that excuse.

But if I don’t eat bread all day long, what will I possibly eat? I’m supposed to eat mostly meat but I don’t even really like meat. Like, not at all. I could totally be a vegetarian. And give up cheese? Forget it. Not gonna happen.

So I did forget about it. A few months went by and I kept eating the same things I had been eating, I was still as fat as ever, and I still felt as bad as usual. Then one day, a friend shared her Paleo success story on Facebook (thank you Jackie!) and the wheels started spinning once again. I could not believe how much healthier she and her husband were, just by changing up the way they were eating. I got so excited about it. I told Denny about it as soon as he got home from work and he got excited about it. He loves meat and doesn’t like bread anyway, so this was an easy change for him. I started googling and reading and researching and taking in everything about the Paleo lifestyle that I possibly could. And even though I was scared, I decided that it was worth a try. I would give it a week and go from there. I could do anything for a week.

But that first week was hard. The first two days were great, since I was so pumped up about it and so excited about eating healthy. But then on day three, I got a craving for something, anything, and I gave in. That bowl of chocolate cheerios tasted amazing, but afterward, I felt like a huge failure. I was so disappointed in myself and I was ashamed of what I’d done. But that didn’t stop me from cooking pasta for dinner the next night. And you know what? It really didn’t taste that good. With every bite I ate, the guilt outweighed the pleasure and I didn’t even want it anymore.

That was the last time I cooked a non-Paleo meal. The days went by and it got easier and easier for me to eat the right things and say no to the wrong things. I knew ahead of time that the first week was going to be a detoxification period for my body. I expected to be tired and have headaches and no energy and feel like crap. And all of those things happened. I felt horrible. I didn’t work out at all that week. But by the end of the week I was feeling better and to my surprise, I lost four pounds. I was sold. I decided to give it a full thirty days and see how I felt then.

The last of those thirty days was last week. I am so glad that I stuck with this and didn’t quit in the beginning when it got hard. There are so many health benefits to this that I had no idea about (which I will get into later) and I feel so amazing. I want to share this with everyone that I know because I want them to feel just as good as I do.

I linked to this video on Facebook, but if you haven’t watched it yet, you should. It never actually says anything about eating Paleo, but it does talk about all of the reasons why you should cut out everything that isn’t considered Paleo food. It’s free to watch through the end of the month and I highly recommend you take 90 minutes to watch it.

http://www.hungryforchange.tv/

Leave a Reply

