Real Food Friday: You Are What You Eat

This is the first in a weekly series all about eating and eating well. Here you will find more than recipes; I’m actually going to teach you how to eat healthier (and how to want to). Enjoy!

What did you eat today?

Was it food? Was it real food?

Did it come from a drive-thru window? Or was it one of those frozen meals you bought from your grocery store’s freezer section? (I can assure you that even though the box might claim that it is “healthy” it most certainly is not.)

As I was whisking together the milk and flour for the macaroni and cheese that I ate for lunch a few days ago, I became so inspired to share just how easy it was to throw together an actual meal. Even better though is just how much better it tasted than that mac-n-cheese that comes from a box with a packet of powdered neon orange “cheese”. Because that stuff? It ain’t cheese. I admit that I have eaten that in the past but I never will again and I’m hoping that you won’t either.

Just like any change that you decide to make in your life, the choice to eat better, to eat healthier, is going to be tough at first. It’s going to require some effort on your part. You’re going to have to break old habits and start new ones. You’re going to have to start thinking differently about the things that you eat and learn which things are food, and which things, sadly, are not.

Start small with one change at a time. Stick with it and you will soon start to notice that your body is craving the good stuff. Not to brag, but I have eaten more than a pound of strawberries in the last two days. I just can’t get enough of them. I’m so addicted that I am going to grow my own next Spring.

I’ve always loved fruit, but I never really liked just picking up an apple or a strawberry and biting into it. Apparently I’m not the smartest person in the world because it took me a lot longer than it should have to realize that I can slice them into bite-size pieces. That has made all the difference for me. Because of one simple change, I eat fruit every day, several times a day.

When you eat better, you feel better. When you eat junk, you feel like junk. And when you eat foods that were created in a factory instead of grown in the earth, you just don’t feel your best. Our bodies were designed to be filled with foods that are all-natural. Processed foods are just not a good match for us.

This doesn’t mean that you can’t have sweets, or whatever food your weakness may be. You can have a brownie; just make sure that it is one that you made in a mixer with ingredients from your pantry and not from a Little Debbie box.

It’s not all or nothing. You can make changes without giving up everything that you love to eat.

So tell me, what did you eat today?

Leave a Reply

