Month 6

Emily,

How has half of a year already passed since you first came into my life? At times it seems like a it was a lifetime ago that Mrs. Jill placed you on my chest, but at the same time it feels like it was only yesterday. I remember our first few days together and I can’t believe how far we’ve come. Just 6 months ago, you were completely helpless. You couldn’t do anything besides eat, sleep, poop and cry. In such a short time you’ve learned to smile, laugh, hold your head up, roll over, “talk”, eat solid food, sit up, and you know exactly how to get what you want. I think you’ve got both your Daddy and I trained very well.

August seemed like such a long month. Lately you have had a terrible attitude and it’s all due to the fact that you can’t seem to get enough sleep. Within an hour or two of waking up in the morning, you are so tired and ornery that I don’t know what to do with you. Well, I do know that you need a nap, but you just aren’t really a fan. To get you to go to sleep, I either have to ride you on the golf cart or nurse you, and pray that it will work. Then if you stay asleep once I lay you down I consider it a miracle. You just want me all of the time, and I am hoping that this phase passes quickly. I think there were a few days this month that I cried more that you did. You are beyond spoiled and it’s all my fault, but hey, I am willing to do Whatever Works. And in doing that I have created a monster.

In between those sleepy moments, you are absolutely delightful. You are so much fun and you are becoming more and more independent every day. You love toys and books and especially getting tickled – it makes you squeal! You still love to get a bath, but lately you have been trying to sit up in the tub and it’s not really working out. It’s a bit slippery, and you are still a bit unsteady, but you refuse to lay down at all. I swear you must think you are 5 years old sometimes.

In the past month, you have become the most curious little creature that ever lived. You are into everything you can get your hands on. I have to be especially cautious when I am wearing you because before I know it you have found something to get into. Also, you can scoot like a pro and get just about anywhere you want to go in the blink of an eye.

Not only can you scoot, you can sit up like a pro! At first you could only maintain your balance for a second or two, but now you rarely ever fall over anymore. You make lots of new sounds, like ga, ba, bla, ma and da. You even say mama and dada sometimes and I can’t wait until you know what those words mean. Because then, hopefully instead of whining to get my attention, you will simply call my name.

One of my favorite things from this month has been the way your little personality is beginning to show. You are becoming a little person and it is so fun to watch! You have a wonderful sense of humor and I think that you are going to be a little comedienne, since you are so funny! You make the funniest sounds and blow raspberries with a mouth full of food. You know what you like and what you don’t like and you are always sure to let us know. You are just growing up way, way too fast.

This month you drank out of a cup for the first time, and you mastered it within just a few seconds. You are such a genius, I swear you are gonna cure cancer someday.

SSL27615

You sit up all of the time now, and you love it! You can finally play with the toys that I have been waiting for you to be big enough to play with.

SSL27573

SSL27579

Your Granny & Pop gave you your very own pair of sunglasses (that other pair you were photographed in were loaners) that at first you loved, but now you won’t leave them on for a second!

SSL27633

And this was the month that we got our first wrap and sort of learned how to use it. You sometimes prefer to play with in instead of be in it.

SSL27643

I can’t believe that the first year of your life is already halfway over. And I also can’t believe that I have a little less than 6 months to plan your first birthday party! Yikes! I love you so, so very much. More than you will ever possibly be able to wrap your head around.

Hugs and Kisses, Mommy.

Leave a Reply

