Have You Seen This?

SSL27490

It’s the “Savannah” pattern by Anchor Hocking.

Many years ago, when I was single and still living at home with my mom, we would go on weekend trips together, mostly to go shopping. It was on one of these trips that I came across the Savannah dishes on clearance at a Walmart in Hilton Head, SC. I got all that they had and walked away with place settings for 4, plus a pitcher, salt and pepper shakers, and a serving platter for only a few dollars. I didn’t know it at the time, but it was a very popular pattern. I only bought it because I thought it was pretty, and it was dirt cheap.

Later on down the road, I added pieces to my collection since Walmart, Belk and other retailers still carried some of the pieces. I was given some of the pieces as gifts, and my mom even found a deviled egg tray at a yard sale. Now I have the entire collection including the salad set, punch bowl, trifle dish, and many others. I’ve even added more plates and bowls to up my number of place settings from 4 to 8. The only thing I’m lacking is the glasses. I have 4 but I want 4 more. I bought a set off of Ebay a few years ago, but they never came and so I got my money back. I’ve been looking there for more, but they are very rare and hard to come by. I could buy them, but they are $24 a piece! I don’t think so!

There are also some water goblets listed but I haven’t bought any yet, although I really want to. I just keep thinking that if I go to yard sales I might find some of the rarer pieces there. I’m sure most people have no idea what this stuff is worth. But I can never drag my butt out of bed early enough to go. Do you go to yard sales? Have you ever seen any of the Savannah dishes? I just want to buy up everything I can find!

Then there is another part of me that thinks that I should sell what I have. Although some of the pieces aren’t worth much, some are – the pitcher that I have sells for around $50! But I think I’m gonna hold on to it for a while. Who knows? That $50 pitcher might be worth a whole lot more someday! So if you are an early bird, keep your eyes open for some Savannah loot for me. Especially the glasses and water goblets!

2 thoughts on “Have You Seen This?

  1. Give your Aunt Teresa a call.
    She has these glasses & I’m pretty darn sure she never has or will use them.
    However, I’m not if it is just the drinking glasses or water glasses. I know she has something though.
    I have the salad bowl & punch bowl but never put much thought into getting anything else. I LOVE these. I can’t believe someone else does (:

Leave a Reply

