Month 5

Emily,

Before you were born, and when I still had time to read, I read in several books that a baby cannot be spoiled in the first 4 months. So I didn’t worry about holding you “too much” or letting you fall asleep while you were nursing. I just went with what felt right and was easiest. And by easiest, I mean what made you stop crying. But those authors failed to warn me about the fifth month. Apparently when those four months are up, all of the non-spoiling that happens in the previous months snowballs into one giant heap of spoiled rotten baby. And spoiled rotten is exactly what you are. There are times when I think that I must love you more than any other mother has ever loved her child, but there are also times when I just want to run away for a while!

Ok, so you’re not terrible. You are just so attached to me. You want me in your eyesight at all times. And even worse, you want me to hold you most of the time. I don’t know how it happened though, since I definitely don’t hold you or wear you all day. But you want your mama and sometimes nobody else will do – not even daddy. It makes me happy and warm and fuzzy inside, but then there are times that I wish you didn’t like me so much so I could have a break!Hopefully this is just a phase that will soon pass.

So what did we do this month? We went to St. Simons for the 4th of July, we went to your 4 month check-up where you got more shots and we went to 2 birthday parties in the same day. We went to Savannah and while we were there we took you to River Street for your first time. We ride the golf cart to get the mail every morning, and in the evenings we go on long rides with Daddy. This is your favorite part of the day. You laugh and coo and bounce the whole time!

Our biggest excitement this month was starting you on solid foods! We started out with cereal, and you have also tried avocado and sweet potato so far. As of right now, you eat three “meals” a day along with breastmilk every 3 hours. You have cereal in the morning, whichever food we are trying out in the late afternoon/early evening, and more cereal before bedtime. And bedtime is certainly much better than it was last month – you are now sleeping for 7-8 hours before waking up to eat, and 11-12 hours total every night!

I’m hoping that eating solid foods will help you gain a bit more weight, but I’m starting to think that maybe I should quit worrying about it and accept the fact that you are a skinny girl. Isn’t that what every girl wants to be anyway? Plus, you are tall too, so I’m thinking you will be a supermodel in about 17 years.

Your little personality is starting to really shine and you have a wonderful sense of humor. You just laugh and laugh at Daddy and I and you are so sweet. You love to practice sitting up in our laps, against the boppy and arm of the couch, and especially in your entertainer. It makes you feel like such a big girl to sit up, and you should be able to sit up on your own in a matter of weeks! I love watching you grow and learn everyday, but I miss my teeny-tiny baby.

Just like Brad Paisley says in his song “Then”, I can’t see is how I’m ever gonna love you more than I do right now, but that sounds so silly since I already know I love you more each day. I was talking to you last night about how you used to be so small and now you are so big. Then I told you that before you were born my heart was small too, and now it is so big and full of love it could burst. It’s true – you (and Daddy too) are my whole world and I don’t know what I would do without you, even though sometimes I don’t know what to do with you.

Lots of love and hugs and kisses from your mama. I can’t wait to see what happens in this sixth month!

Emily 339

Emily 377

Emily 372

Emily 379

Emily 389

SSL27385-1

SSL27415

SSL27434

Emily 231

2 thoughts on “Month 5

  1. Wow!!! She is 5 months old and so beautiful!!! I love her expression in the 3rd pic down from the top!!! Reminds me of one Dylan does. I am so proud you’re still nursing her!!! I remember the every 3 hour feeds too and I would be so tired but then at night I’d fall asleep with him nursing!!! So even a year after he weaned he’s still a Mamas boy!!! She will be really attached to you!!! Plus she’ll be healthy- Dylan has only had 1 ear infection thank the Lord and I think it had a lot to do with him being breastfed. You are a FANTASTIC Mom!!! Emily just keeps getting prettier!

  2. thanks for the encouraging words. I am not too excited about the big C…we were actually pretty disappointed because even though we weren’t going to a birthing center, we wanted to go natural. But, God has a purpose and we have made our peace with it. Your baby is PRECIOUS! They don’t stay little long… what have I gotten myself into! 🙂

Leave a Reply

