Month 2

Dear Emily,

The second month of your life did not seem to go by as quickly as your first. Time seemed to slow down a bit, the days dragging on, much to my delight. At the same time, however, there were days when I prayed that night would fall and to sleep you would go. You see, before you were born, I did a lot of reading, and I knew that I should expect a crying peak around 6 weeks. Since you rarely ever cried prior to your 6 week mark, I thought I would get lucky and miss out on that stage. But no, the crying did peak, and when I say that you cried, what I really mean is that you had Major Meltdowns of Epic Proportions.

As you cried, there were times when I cried right along with you. I tried everything imaginable to soothe you, but the only thing that worked was the golf cart. I have never, ever been more appreciative and grateful for that golf cart. Riding puts you right to sleep, thank God, since most of your meltdowns are due to a combination of being overtired + fighting sleep.

And oh, when you sleep, you are precious. emily-065

So beautiful, so serene, so delicious that I want to gobble you up, because holding you close is never close enough. I love every thing about you;    the rolls on your arms, ssl26236

 your wispy hair that is just long enough for me to run my fingers through, your smiles when I sing to you, your laughter when Daddy comes home and you hear his voice for the first time all day,

the way you suck your thumb, ssl26062

your much improved eating habits, the way you smell, the way that you look like Daddy but act just like me, and my favorite is that you need me, want me, have to have me. Although it upsets the other people that love you so much, it thrills my heart that there is nobody else in this world that can make it all better like I can. Sometimes all I have to do is pick you up, and all the tears fade away. Seeing you happy is the most rewarding part of being a mommy.

We’ve come a long way is four short weeks. We have routines that make life so much easier for us. You continue to sleep all night long (most nights) and after you eat your first meal of the day, you usually return to sleep for a few more hours. Then you take 2 or 3 naps each day, and often I will take naps with you. You love to sleep on my chest, and even though I know I shouldn’t make it a habit, I cannot stop myself from rocking you to sleep every time. The evenings are your happiest time of the day. This is when Daddy is home, when you get your bath, and when I rub your feet with lotion (this, by the way, is your most favorite thing in the whole world!)  before putting your jammies on. Before bed, you nurse one last time, and then I swaddle you, ssl26064

which you absolutely love. As soon as you are wrapped up tight, you know that it is bedtime, and you usually will go right off to sleep.

Your eating habits, as I mentioned before, are so much better than they were last month. You eat every three hours during the day, and it only takes 15-20 minutes for you to get your belly full. You don’t fall asleep while you’re nursing anymore, except for the occasional bedtime feeding. The aftermath of your feeding is a whole different story, and it’s a terrible one. You have gone from having poops all day, to usually having a big one in the morning, and a big one at night (except for Saturday, when you pooped 3 times within 30 minutes, with one of those being a blowout that got on Daddy’s shirt! Ha!). ssl26142

You have yet to poop or pee in the bathtub, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed and knocking on wood that you don’t (or if you do, just make sure it’s when Daddy is bathing you).

This month taught me more lessons than the first, and you learned a lot too. You now know that when I pull my shirt up and my bra down, good things are coming your way. Seriously, your face lights up like Hugh Hefner’s when you see a boob. You’ve learned that if you whine when the music stops on your mobile or swing, mommy will make it start again. You’ve learned how to follow toys with your eyes, and your favorite toy is your telephone rattle.

Mommy has learned some very valuable skills, such as how to use the bathroom with one hand, while the other is holding you. Also how to do just about everything else one-handed, including putting on your socks. With my left hand. Shouldn’t there be a prize awarded for that? Anywho. I’ve learned that you love to be naked, and dressing you is a struggle. I’m in for it big time when you become mobile. I’ve figured out what your cries mean, and I can usually calm you down fairly quickly. I’ve learned how to cloth diaper, ssl26242

and I’ve finally learned how to use the Program setting on my camera, so that I can take better pictures of you.

In the middle of the month, your new cousin Whitaker was born, and you met him on your first trip to Uncle Brian and Aunt Christy’s house. ssl26146

You attended your first wedding at the Desoto Hilton in Savannah, where mommy’s friend Jessica Kirksey married Jason Scheil. You also went on your longest car ride yet to Pelican Point – 1 1/2 hours away!

My little bird, I can’t wait to see what May has in store for us. I am sure that there will be many more firsts for you and I am so excited to watch you grow and learn! Mommy and Daddy love you more and more each day, and you bring so much joy to our lives!

Leave a Reply

