The Great Escape

As it turns out, I got some time away from the baby, which was exactly what I wanted. Or so I thought. I will be away from Emily for 9 hours a day for the next 4 weeks, since I am once again replacing a teacher who did the dirty dirty with her husband approximately 9 months ago is pregnant and ready to pop. I wanted a break, but this is a bit too much for me. What I was looking for was 5 minutes here (to use the bathroom without holding her, which is very, very difficult by the way. Especially the pulling up of the pants.) and 20 minutes there (to bake some cookies, which are exactly what I need to get those last few pounds off my thighs).

However, there are some great benefits to this. Not only will this help me get my foot in the door of what I consider to be the best school system in my area (I’m in Effingham, if you were wondering), but getting to be Megan the Teacher and not just Megan the Mommy all the time is doing me a lot of good. Plus, there’s money! And it’s actually pretty good money.

But I miss her. I feel like I barely saw her at all yesterday. She fell asleep about 2 hours after we got home, and I went right along with her – for 3 hours! And after we woke up and got our bellies full, it was bedtime. I spent about 3 hours with her all day. That isn’t going to cut it.

And so it seems that the grass truly isn’t always greener on the other side.

4 thoughts on “The Great Escape

  1. Well this is more in response to the misery loves company blog- I felt just like you felt and I understand completely. Here is the one thing that I feel like saved my sanity during those newborn and infant days. His most used baby item and my favorite- his fisher price bouncer. I don’t know why they call it that it doesn’t really bounce unless you push it. But it looks like a little mini seat with a buckle to strap em’ in. His had a song switch (it wasn’t annoying which was a shock!) and little animals on each side.
    Well LONG story short- when I needed a bath/shower ( I like one every morning) I straped Dylan in the bouncer and pulled it in the bathroom. He watched me shower (not so weird for a baby) and he loved it. This is coming from the baby who had colic and acid reflux.
    If I needed to do something like put on dinner I would strap him in it again, turn on the music and pull the thing in the kitchen. He would watch me.
    Nothing else satisfied him. Not his pack and play, swing etc.
    PLEASE consider trying it out. When you can get one I promise you won’t regret it! Love- Donna

  2. One more thing- his was the Fisher Price sensory selections bouncer. Maybe you can pull it up and look at it. I wish I hadn’t given it away or I’d given it to you. There are a lot of good ones but this one was awesome.

  3. I can definitely relate to your post. I am also a teacher. It was really challenging to leave my oldest when I went back to teaching. It was so hard that I didn’t know if I could do it, but it did get easier. With my second it was much easier to return to work. Now I am pregnant with my third baby. I am teaching a little over part-time, sixty percent which is three full days a week. I am due this summer and trying to figure out a way that I can return to my position three days a week with having three kids instead of two. There is something to be said about being the Megan the Teacher, not that Megan the mommy is not enough, but I totally understand what you mean. I really enjoy teaching, not that I don’t enjoy my own children, but I like to have a balance between the two. Teaching for me right now is almost my time, since I don’t get a lot of me time outside of work. I am sure there are a lot of people out there who would disagree, but I think you just have to do what works for you. I wish you the best. It is only four weeks…I find that I can do anything for certain amount of time, it is just inevitable no end in sight that gets to me. I hope that things go well for you and this is just what you need to get your foot in the door with your preferred school district. The grass does always seem greener on the other side.

  4. I know exactly how you feel. It seems that when I get Haley in the afternoons, time I get home it is a rat race! I have to cook, clean up, get her a bath and fed, and whatever else. By the time I get all of that done, it is time for her to go to bed! I have no time to just sit and play and love on her!!! Working may keep you from seeing her as much as you want too, but it also gives you time to yourself and makes you a better mommy! You will not get as frustrated with her and you’ll have a lot more patience!! That’s the way I try to look at it! You’ll have more money in your pocket too so you can buy her more cute outfits! lol

Leave a Reply

