Month 1

Dear Emily,

It is so hard to believe that one month has passed since you were born. The days have gone by in such a hurry, and before you know it, we will be celebrating 2 months, 3 months, and so on. In the past 31 days, I have been the happiest that I have ever been in my life. I never knew that I could love anyone as much as I love you, and you might find this hard to believe, but I need you more than you need me. I simply cannot imagine my life without you in it; a life without you would be no life at all.

I have learned a lot in the past month. I have learned how to breastfeed, how to pump, and all about your (strange, slow, sometimes inconvenient) eating habits. I have learned that you don’t mind a wet diaper, but a butt covered in poop makes for one unhappy baby. Which is why you LOVE to get your diaper changed. Even more enjoyable than a clean butt, is a clean body. You would stay in the bathtub for hours if I had the time to let you. Just like me, you find the water fun and relaxing. Someday we will have lots of fun swimming together. You get a lot of comfort out of sucking, and although I didn’t want to, I caved in and gave you a pacifier. You don’t use it a lot, usually only if you have gas or if you are overly tired. You also like to suck on your fingers and your thumb, but usually when you start doing that it means that you are hungry. You know my voice, and Daddy’s voice too, and you are good at following objects with your eyes.

There are other ways that you are like me too. My favorite is that you like love to sleep. You started sleeping through the night when you were only 3 weeks old (which is very uncommon for a breastfed baby, from what I’ve heard and read). You sleep for 6-7 hours, then wake up to eat, and go back to sleep for another 2-3 hours. I could not be a happier, more well-rested mama! Like me, you too are very impatient. Once you get hungry, you want to eat right then. Not in a minute or two – NOW! You look like me too; you have my hands, two of my toes, and my fat cheeks (well, mine aren’t fat anymore, but when I was a baby they sure were).

You look a lot like Daddy too. You have his eyes, his lips, and his chin. You have three of his toes, including the infamous “peanut toe”, which he is extremely proud of. Oh, and you have detached earlobes like him (Daddy loves this too – he thinks my attached earlobes are weird. I just think he’s weird that he cares about earlobes). Like your Daddy, you are very strong. You can hold your head up for a long time before your neck gets tired, and you work it out very, very often.  And the best part of all is that you are a very laid back, quiet, easygoing baby. That is something that you get from both of us, and I hope that you stay this way.

In your first month, you haven’t been very many places, since you have not yet had your shots and it is flu and RSV season. We don’t want you to get sick, so we have been very careful with you. But you have been to Target, Walmart, Zaxby’s, Teapotters (a local restaurant – and your Pop’s favorite), and Belk. You have also been to see the pediatrician, the midwife, and the nurses at the Health Department. You have been to Granny and Pop’s house several times, and to Nana’s house one time. You went to Wendi Hiller’s house to have pictures taken (and you were the best little model – you slept the entire time!). You even went to Midway to celebrate your first St. Patrick’s Day!

You have been given several nicknames in your short time with us. Little Bird is the nickname I gave you because you look just like a baby bird when you are looking for something to eat, with your mouth wide open. Your Daddy calls you Sweetheart, and Sweet Pea, since you are oh so sweet. And your Pop calls you Doodlebug.

Emily, I am so lucky, and so blessed to have you for my daughter. God made you just for me, and me just for you. I love you more than you will ever know, and I am looking forward to spending many, many more months with you!

                                             ssl25637

3 thoughts on “Month 1

  1. She is absolutely beautiful. I know my son is only a few months older, but it amazes me that he was once that small. It’s seems so long ago, and yet only a blink away. Take an obscene amount of photographs!! You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

