Houston, We Have Liftoff

Finally! This baby is ready to meet the world! My contractions started at 2:24 a.m., and were 10 minutes apart. It’s now 3:45 a.m. and they are already down to 7 minutes apart, and lasting for about 45 seconds, so I just might get the quick labor that I have been hoping for!

I always wondered how I would know when it was real, and everyone assured me that I would just know. But would the contractions hurt bad enough in the beginning for me to notice? Would I really be able to time them like all the books and the midwives told me? Um, yeah. They are noticeable. Actually, they hurt a lot. A whole heck of a lot more than I thought that they would. But don’t take that as I sign that I am backing out on my plans for no pain meds. I can certainly handle this!

It’s really strange that it’s happening right now. I won’t say that I had a feeling that it was going to, because I have had “feelings” before and they amounted to nothing. I simply was finished with being pregnant, and I told my body just that. I also did something that I am ashamed to admit that I don’t do nearly enough: I prayed. While taking a shower this evening, I broke down and I basically told God that I was thankful to have a full-term, fully developed, healthy baby, and that I was ready to meet the miracle that He has blessed us with. I explained that I have been more than patient, and that it was time to get what I have been waiting so long for. Well, I guess he was listening!

Fast forward 2 hours: We are getting ready to head to the birth center! If for some strange reason you are awake and reading this, please don’t tell our parents – we want to wait until we get there to make any calls. Let’s have a baby!

3 thoughts on “Houston, We Have Liftoff

  1. Your Mama called me while I was coming into work. I’m so happy she is finally coming. I can’t wait for the next phone call telling me she is here. Thinking of you!

  2. Makayla is here with me and I am SOOOOOO Happy for y’all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    You have definately waited long enough!!!!! Prayers and thoughts are with you and Denny and baby Hulsey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

