Due Date, Schmue Date

Well the day has finally arrived. The day that we have all been waiting so patiently for (or not so patiently for some of us). The day that has been circled on the calendar for months. The day that Baby Girl is “supposed” to be born. But guess what? Somebody forgot to send her the memo, because right now, she is still as snug as a bug in a rug in her home in uterus-land.

She has, however, managed to move into the perfect position for labor. Her back is at the front and center of my belly, which means – no back labor for me! I have been trying to get her to move for a few weeks, but I guess she just wanted to wait until she was ready. (Is this child gonna be stubborn, or what? I think we are going to have a very headstrong little girl. It’s her way, or the highway folks.)  

Although over half of all women go past their due dates, I never really thought that it would happen to me. I knew that it very well could, but I just didn’t want to accept it. And hey, the day isn’t over yet! I’ve still got time! But my sister predicts tomorrow, and that is fine with me. I do really think that it will be sometime before the end of the week (or maybe that is just wishful thinking). I can just sense it. I feel completely different. The baby feels lower (if it is even possible that she can get any lower without falling out) I have been having tons of contractions, although none of them are the real thing. And she has almost completely stopped moving, which is a good sign, which means that she is saving her energy for the Journey That Lies Ahead.

Knowing that labor really could start at any second, I am finally scared. I haven’t been scared or worried about it at all until now. And honestly, it’s not the pain that scares me. I can handle the pain. It only lasts for a little while. What scares me is that when it is all over, I will have a baby. And it will be up to me (mostly – after all, I do have the boobs) to keep her alive. I have to be completely responsible for someone’s life? I have to make sure that she is fed, warm, clean, happy, loved, safe, etc.? Whoa. Am I qualified for this? Let’s hope so, ’cause it’s too late to turn back now!

3 thoughts on “Due Date, Schmue Date

  1. I was beginning to worry. I hadn’t heard anything from your mom & neither of you have been around cyberland today. Darn I thought baby girl was here.
    Well the day is not over yet. I know you’re ready for it to happen & it will soon.

    BTW…you’re gonna be a great Mom!

  2. Taking care of her and providing for her should be the least of your worries. Your going to be great. You’ve been around children practically your whole life so you know pretty much what works and what doesn’t.
    And in case I haven’t told you lately, I am very proud of you and the woman you have become. I love you!!!

  3. Hi Megan!
    Well my Mom asked me if she was here yet and I told her – not yet! Or we would have heard something! Well I remember having those contractions and going to the hospital and the Dr. sent me home. It was in the middle of the night 2 days before he was born. I thought they were the “real thing”. Oddly enough when the time did come th contractions I was having really didn’t feel that different. I told Dean- ” I think we should go but I don’t know” and he said “No they’ll just send you home again.” Did I mention this was also at
    like 3 in the morning!!! Well I got there and they said yep you’re ready!!! I was kind of shocked because I wasn’t really hurting.
    Well enough rambling- you will do great ( you’re prepared and well read)
    I am praying for you and so is my Mom!!! I can’t wait to see her first picture!!! I hope you’ll post some on your blog!!! Love you

Leave a Reply

