39 Weeks

Friday’s check-up was a bit more exciting than the rest – I had my first internal exam to see how things are progressing. I told the midwife to begin with that I didn’t want to know any numbers (centimeters dilated) or percentages (of effacement), and so she didn’t tell me any. I knew that if there was nothing going on down there that I would be disappointed. Ignorace is bliss. She did say that things were exactly as she would expect them to be at 39+ weeks, and that I am getting very soft and ripe. She also hinted that I am about 2 centimeters dilated, but I really don’t know for sure. And she could feel the baby’s head – which really, really freaked me out, since she was only a few inches in (TMI? Sorry).  Her head is LOW, ready to make an exit. She told me a few things to do at home to get things going, but so far, nothing seems to be working.

Other than that, everything was fine. My weight didn’t change at all, heart rate was normal, blah, blah, blah. Now I’m just waiting. I guess I’ll go for another walk……

3 thoughts on “39 Weeks

  1. Gosh…I wish she would just hurry up and come on!!! I don’t think I can stand it much longer…and I know that your are so anxious you don’t know what to do with yourself. Through out the whole pregnancy I have kept up with your little baby calendar and I looked at it today and it said “Megan is 40 weeks pregnant” Finally….wooohooo!!!!! Well just keep us posted PLEASE!!! Please have someone to call us just to let us know that your in labor. We won’t come and bug you or anything, I just want to know…I can’t help it!!! We love y’all!!!

  2. You need one more “baby bump” pic! Even though I am sure that is the LAST thing you feel like doing.
    BTW…I LOVE your mom’s blog.

Leave a Reply

