I Survived!

Can you believe it? Well, I almost didn’t make it. Denny was right beside me, and I put my head on his chest and closed my eyes and held onto him (I honestly would not have been able to do it without him there). I didn’t even know that the needle was in my arm until the nurse told me – why she told me, I still don’t know. But she was wonderful – she knew that I was scared and she kept asking me questions to help keep my mind off of what she was doing. When she was almost finished, I began feeling a little faint, and I got dizzy and hot and started sweating a lot. I had to lay down for about 5 minutes, and then I was ok. And you know what? It didn’t even hurt. It was all in my head.

Now, on to other, less scary issues.

I LOVE the birthing center! It feels just like home! They are in a brand new facility in Savannah, and it is so nice and relaxing. We toured the birthing suites – there are two – and they are a lot like hotel rooms, just without the maroon carpet and floral wallpaper and border. They have regular beds – not hospital beds, a rocking chair, a jacuzzi tub, a kitchenette with fridge and microwave, and a huge bathroom. There is also a walking path outside, complete with flowers and the like, that laboring mothers can venture outdoors and use. And the best part? The midwives! We only met one of the three yesterday, and she was amazing. She was so nice, and so genuinely concerned about me and my questions. She even gave me a hug when I was finished with my blood work. Now, how many doctors have given you a hug, especially after something as simple as a blood draw? I didn’t think so.

And I know you all are dying to know – did I have an ultrasound? Disappointingly, no. They only do ultrasounds on Tuesdays (I don’t know why, but it’s probably because they have someone come in just for that day to do them – they don’t really have a lot of patients, so there is no need to have someone there every day). But I do go back in about 2 weeks, on August 5th, and they will do an ultrasound then. I can’t wait to see my baby!

2 thoughts on “I Survived!

  1. awwwwww…..I’m so happy you’re using a birthing center….and that your blood work went well. I wish I could have seen ya yesterday….but I ‘ll be back again soon and you’ll probably be showing by then! I did get to see Marlii yesterday…and she was soooooo adorable….I took some pics, but I should prolly get Marlin’s permission b/f posting them on Myspace….I’m working on a webpage…it might be safer to put them on there.

  2. oh, so glad you liked it! I can’t wait to see the birthing center. You and Denny will have to tell us all about it! Aren’t the midwives so nice and gentle and caring?

Leave a Reply

