Tears For Fears

It’s coming, sooner than I would like. This upcoming Friday, for the first time in my life, I will have my blood drawn. I am scared to death. I can think of numerous other things that I would rather do, like for example, give up chocolate for the rest of my life. Yeah, that would be a good trade-off. In case I haven’t mentioned it before, let me make it very, very clear: I hate needles! Just thinking about a needle in my vein sends chills down my spine, along with waves of nausea and an uncontrollable urge to cancel my appointment and refuse any prenatal care. I can just picture it now. I will either cry hysterically, pass out, or have to be sedated. Or a combination of all three is also very likely. Let me also mention that my choice for using a midwife as apposed to a doctor is based largely on the fact that a midwife will not be poking me with IVs and foot-long epidural needles when it’s delivery time (I know what you’re thinking, and don’t even say it). Oh, the things mothers do for their children……

5 thoughts on “Tears For Fears

  1. It’s not that big of a deal! Quit stressing! Just sit there and imagine holding your beautiful baby and you’ll do fine.

  2. I can’t believe you’ve NEVER had blood drawn!!! I used to be SCARED TO DEATH of needles … seriously … I would FREAK out and cry afterwards, leaving the bandaid on for like 3 days. But after being poked and prodded throughout my pregnancy and during delivery (they tried FOUR times to get my IV set!), I don’t even flinch now! I PROMISE it is not bad at all! And when it’s all for your BABY, it makes everything so much easier.

Leave a Reply

