Millhouse Misery

This past Friday night, Denny and I, along with our friends Paul & Megan, went to dinner at Statesboro’s new Millhouse Restaurant. I for one, will not be returning, if I can help it. Every aspect of our dining experience was no less than appalling. Our server was slow – it took too long after we were seated for him to stop by and introduce himself, and then it was an even longer period of time before our drinks arrived. We had already finished the basket of bread that had been placed on our table, and the bread wasn’t even that good. The menu is impressive, I will give them that much credit. With everything from italian pastas to cajun and creole spice to down-home southern food, they have it all, including steaks. Maybe that’s why the food isn’t good – they make so many different things that they don’t have time to perfect the flavor. To make a long story short, I brought my leftovers of my chicken parmesan home to Magnum, which was at least two-thirds of my food. Denny’s steak was dry and the bottom nearly burnt, even though he ordered it cooked medium. And Paul & Megan weren’t exactly raving about their food, even if Paul did eat all of his. Maybe it’s because they just opened, but it isn’t like this is the first of its’ kind. And to top it all off, the prices were a bit expensive. We could have gone to a much nicer restaurant, for example, my new favorite 119 Chops, and had much better food at a cheaper price. But don’t let me stop you from going – see for yourself, if you don’t believe me!

5 thoughts on “Millhouse Misery

  1. I would like to invite you to come to the Millhouse and ask for me personally. I will make sure that your next visit to the Statesboro Millhouse is exceptional. I understand that the visit you described above was unsatisfactory. I have seen the greats things this restaurant has done and will continue to do. If you have a question give me a call 404-307-4365

  2. I completely disagree about your view of the Millhouse. I went on a Friday and did not have to wait for a table, even though the parking lot was packed. My server was a cute little girl who was extremely friendly and answered all my questions about the large menu. I thought the black chef’s coats the servers were wearing gave a more expensive feel to the restaurant. Our food came out fast and was delicious. I had the Millhouse Gorgonzola and my steak was cooked a perfect medium rare and the mashed potatoes tasted home made. I also had a piece of carrot cake for desert and I am not joking when I say it is the best I have ever had.

  3. A friend of mine is coming from Australia in a few months and I’m looking for great places to take him (without having to drive to Savannah) that, not only have a great menu to choose from, but delicious regional foods as well. I’ve heard many things about Millhouse, both good and not-so-good. I want to make a great impression on my friend as to the places we dine here in the ‘Boro, but I’m so worried to take him into a restaurant with bad food, bad service or…bad anything for that matter. To the original author, did you go back and if so, did you have a better experience? Thanks for the insight…

    MM

  4. Miss Nina, I never did go back to the Millhouse. But since my first experience, I have heard nothing but good things about it. Everyone disagrees with me, so maybe my taste buds were funky that night. Even my mother likes it, and she is usually VERY picky and hard to please. Actually, I was pregnant and didn’t know it yet at that time – maybe that had something to do with it. You already know how I feel about 119 Chops, but they don’t exactly serve “southern” food. If Carey Hilliard’s is open by then, that would be a good place to go. Or Uncle Shug’s or Vandy’s (on Vine St.) or RJ’s or The Beaver House. Good luck with the Aussie!

  5. Oh, and of course Fordham’s Farmhouse! How could I leave that one out? My MIL was a Fordham, so although I should feel obligated to include them, I wouldn’t have if I didn’t love love LOVE the food!

Leave a Reply

