My Current Obsession

 

What is my current obsession, you ask? Babies! All about babies. In particular, the way that they physically enter into this world. I’ve been watching videos of home births and water births (yes, actual births. the whole thing) on youtube, and I just can’t stop. Plus, I found The Business of Being Born a few days ago, and I can’t wait to watch it and learn even more. I also found a post that lists the 10 biggest childbirth myths. If you wanna read the whole thing, it’s right here. If not, here is the list:

  1. “Before Cesareans, women were dying all the time in childbirth.”
  2. “I have to be induced because my baby is getting too big.”
  3. “I had to have a c-section because my baby’s cord was around his neck.”
  4. “Once your water breaks, you have to deliver within 24 hours.”
  5. “Once a Cesarean, always a Cesarean.”
  6. “It’s not a big deal to induce, as long as you’re term.”
  7. “Epidurals don’t pass to the baby. They’re not risky.”
  8. “I had to be induced because they found low fluid.”
  9. “Stripping membranes is perfectly harmless.”
  10. “I pushed for hours and my baby would not come out. I NEEDED a C-section.”

 Ok, I am not a doctor, and I knew half of these were not true before I even read them. Most of them are common sense, if people will just take the time to think about them. I am starting to think that it would be funny (and heart-attack inducing) if I had my babies at home, unattended. That means no midwife, just me and Denny. Ha! I can already hear the sighs and gasps of disbelief. Don’t worry, I’m not that crazy. Yet.

2 thoughts on “My Current Obsession

  1. Hmm…I don’t know about no mid-wife or any thing. But, if it’s what you want then we back you 100%! One of the funniest ones is #3 – you here it ALL the time. The crazy thing is — it doesn’t matter what is around the babies neck…it’s not breathing. The cord is SO long that it has to be wrapped around something. Megan, I am so proud of you. And, I know that Brian is, too. He is really as into it – if not more than I am. We really have to get together about this – it’s one of the soap boxes in my closet. I don’t get to talk about it much.

  2. Don’t worry. I would never deliver without at least a midwife present. Can’t you just imagine Denny catching the baby, all by himself? He can’t even watch the super-edited versions of it on tv!

Leave a Reply

