The Real Meaning of Christmas

Christmas comes around too quickly it seems. It feels like it was just Christmas a few months ago, not twelve. And even though Beatrice is over 9 months old, it seems like it was last week that I proudly held her in my arms for the first time. No, I’m not being Scrooge-y, I’m just wondering where the time went. I feel like I am constantly wishing my life away, waiting on things to happen. Graduation, my first day teaching in my own classroom, building (or buying) a house, having children, and the list goes on and on. In the meantime, LIFE is happening, and I feel like it is passing me by and I am not an active participant, but only a bystander looking on at the world around me. I am saddened by how fast time goes by, but I still find myself wishing it away. Whoa. I am way off topic. Or am I? When did we lose the real meaning of Christmas? How did we forget? We all get so caught up in buying the perfect presents to make our loved ones happy, and turning in our lists on time to make sure that we get everything that we want (even though we probably don’t need any of it), that we lose sight of what we should be doing. First of all, we need to take a minute to think about all that we have and be thankful that we are fortunate enough to have all of our needs taken care of, and our Christmas lists only contain all of our “wants”. And second, we should be concerned with spending time with our family members, especially those who don’t live close enough to visit very often. But instead we find ourselves rushing from store to store, trying to catch the sales. And then when Christmas arrives, we go from house to house, making sure that we fit everyone into our busy schedules. Stretch it out. Make it last. Most of us are off for a few days anyway.  I would really love to take all of the money that is spent at Christmas and put it to use in a better way. There are families in Statesboro and all over the U.S. (and the rest of the world) who can’t even afford to have a nice meal on Christmas, much less presents under the tree. So this year, I am really frustrated and fed-up with all of the family “traditions” that I will take part in. Maybe that’s why I haven’t done any Christmas shopping yet. I feel like it’s all so pointless. The people that you buy for this year won’t remember what you got them by the time Christmas rolls around next year. But if you donated to a family in need, I’m willing to bet that they would look back and appreciate it always.

2 thoughts on “The Real Meaning of Christmas

  1. I know, I know, Christmas is SO over commercialized. I try to maintain the spirit inside and keep the true meaning at heart. Christmas has become one of my least favorite holidays — for this reason — especially now that money is tight. It’s good to hear your perspective. You are right. It does seem pointless unless the gifts are heartfelt. hmm…what is a mama to do?

  2. That is an awesome blog. I was just thinking last night, about all the money my Mom, your Grandmother spends every year on all of us. Not to mention, all of us worrying and fretting what to get her because she has everything she needs. And the idea came to me next year, only gifts for the kids at her house. Us older ones each adopt a less fortunate family and spend the money on them. I dont remember if I saw it in the paper or one of Christy’s blogs, about the fire depratment giving out gifts on December 21st. I would really like Michael and Makayla see it first hand. Especially Michael he has become so unapporeciative. This is long enough, I guess one day Im going to have to blog too.

Leave a Reply

