Ms. Blankenship, Science Teacher

Ok, before you even ask why is says Ms. Blankenship, it’s because that is what my nametag says. I’ve had it for 2 years, and I didn’t feel like putting forth the effort (and the $10) to get a new one made. Plus, as far as Georgia Southern is concerned, I’m still Megan Blankenship. So, for the last 2 days, I have taught earth science to 6th graders at Ebenezer Middle School. The problem with that is, I am not a science person. Well, I didn’t think I was until yesterday. Teaching science is so much fun! There are so many hands-on activities you can do with science. I never knew I would enjoy it this much, but I am really starting to like it. I guess that’s a good thing, since I have 6 more days to go.  I just still can’t believe how scared I was to teach a science class. I worried and worried, and researched and planned, and planned some more. And all of that work paid off in the end. I guess the point I’m really trying to make is, mama was always right. You CAN do anything you put your mind to doing. So don’t be afraid to go after what you want, even if it does seem scary or too challenging. If it’s something you really want, the payoff will be well worth the struggle. Oh my lord, I sound like a teacher.

2 thoughts on “Ms. Blankenship, Science Teacher

  1. I bet you are a GREAT science teacher. And, I am so glad. The women, or soon to be women, of the world need science. We need to teach our girls that math and science are fun and exciting. Look our NASA here comes B!

  2. Great blog Megan. I am feeling the same way about science and I was so scared the first day I almost could not get out of my truck…….Best of luck for the next six days. Love you girl = )

Leave a Reply

